breakfast binaries

Breakfast: yea or nay? Sweet or savory? I definitely fall into the “yay, dessert” camp when it comes to the first meal of the day. Unfortunately for me, French toast and pancakes are not always the most nutritionally sound option.

Luckily, I think I’ve found a pretty good compromise in the form of Greek yogurt “parfaits.” I’d given Greek yogurt a go in the past, but always found it too tart for my tastes. I’ve been trying it out in earnest recently and have been truly enjoying it with some naturally sweet elements. Below, my most recent bowl of yo’ with mangoes and almonds.

I know it’s a bit silly to include a recipe for a dish that you quite literally toss together to taste — but I figure I’d share anyway. All the toppings are optional, from the fruit, to nuts, to sweetener, and their proportions are also just as flexible. It’s always fun to experiment, and you can almost never go wrong.

Greek yogurt with mangoes and almonds

Ingredients

  • Greek yogurt – I used 6 ounces of Fage non-fat
  • Toppings of choice, including:
    • Fruits – I used half a mango
    • Nuts – I used 1/8 cup of almonds
    • Sweetener – I skip this when the fruit is naturally very sweet, but you can use honey, agave nectar, maple syrup, jams, preserves… the possibilities are endless.
    • Additional flavorings – some ideas include chocolate (in chip or powder form), peanut butter (including the powdered kind), even candy if you’re feeling naughty.

Instructions

  1. Cut your fruit into your preferred shape. I cubed my mangoes.
  2. Spoon the Greek yogurt into the bowl, and throw all your toppings into the bowl.
  3. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

