Bragg’s liquid aminos

As an Asian American learning to embrace her roots, I’ve been rediscovering my love of the malty, salty flavors of soy sauce. News flash: it’s delicious. But (oh, that but!) the sodium content! It can really get ya. Even the lower sodium varieties still make my kidneys seize up in fear.

Enter: Bragg’s liquid aminos.

I first met this product with suspicion for two major reasons: (1) The product name sounds clinical and/or chemical — not exactly something I’d imagine splashing over rice; and (2) the new-age-y Western brand made me a bit skeptical. I’ll admit, that last point’s a bit hypocritical since I cavalierly use funky foreign-brand ingredients in my cooking… but whatevs, I am what I am!

In any case, I’m glad I branched out. Bragg’s liquid aminos are am-azing-ino (sorry.). It’s made from “health-giving, non-GMO soybeans and purified water” and crosses off every item imaginable on one’s imaginary “health food” checklist: non-GMO certified, kosher, artificial MSG-free, low in sodium (not just “lower sodium”) and delicious. That last point’s important.

I bought Bragg’s on impulse, standing in the soy sauce section at my market, and had it the next day in a chicken and shiitake mushroom stir-fry. The taste, in Jay’s words, is a cross between soy sauce and Maggi seasoning sauce. I can’t find a single thing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

