the bounty of the season

Let’s take a moment, shall we?

Sometimes I forget that we’re midway through summer, being that San Francisco gets such limited sunshine. Today, however, I got off the bus stop and was bowled over by the scent of fresh stone fruit from the nearby farmer’s market. The air was so sweet, so intoxicating, that I truly had to pause and appreciate the wondrousness of nature.

In a city where summer sometimes seems nonexistent, this early morning moment filled me with excitement for the season and all it entails: the daylight, the lushness, the abundance. I am also thankful for a community that brings its handiwork to my doorstep. So much to love in these all-too-fleeting months…

Leave a Reply

