oats and egg white bars

Even though I’m somehow able to wake up early to work out each day, I’m not Superwoman. I could never sacrifice the 10 minutes of sleep required to make myself breakfast each day.

I’ve experimented quite a bit with breakfasts over the past few months. Sometimes I get down and dirty with Clif bars. Other weeks, I’ll go on benders prepping healthy foods, like overnight oatmeal, Greek yogurt and Kashi “parfaits,” and egg whites cooked in mugs.

I’ve now entered a new phase of breakfasting: experimenting with tried-and-true ingredients. Introducing… healthy “french toast-inspired” bars. I know, they’re not the most glamorous-looking things out there — but I’m enjoying them immensely. The addition of golden raisins and chocolate chips makes them quite the treat, though they still pack quite the nutritional punch. Next time, I’m adding protein powder to make them balls-to-the-wall health food. You can also feel free to swap in various toppings; I imagine fruit, peanut butter, and nuts would all work wonderfully in this. Make this on Sunday and enjoy having breakfast throughout the work week — I sure will.

Oats and egg white bars

Ingredients

  • 1 & 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 cups egg whites
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (you can adjust this to taste)
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins (optional)
  • chocolate chips to taste (optional; I used about 25 grams)

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray a baking dish (I used a 9 x 5 baking dish) with non-stick spray.
  3. Pour in all your ingredients and mix. Let sit for 10 minutes (so that the oats plump up a bit) and mix again, thoroughly.
  4. Bake the mixture for 30 minutes, or until it is cooked through. Cool, slice, and serve.
Leave a Reply

