happy 101st birthday, Julia!

(Photo: NY Mag)

Today marks the 101st birthday of the cooking world’s patron saint, Julia Child. Unlike so many food lovers, I actually had very little exposure to Julia and her cooking, writing, and joie de vivre. It’s a smidge embarrassing to admit, but it was only after watching Julie and Julia a few years ago that I began to understand the rightful obsession with this woman. Not only was she a culinary genius, but a larger-than-life personality to boot. I’ve collected a few of my favorite quotes from her (and trust me, it was difficult, as this woman was made for soundbites!).

On the United States:

How can a nation be called great if its bread tastes like kleenex?

On ingredients:

There is nothing worse than grilled vegetables.

On dieting:

I’m awfully sorry for people who are taken in by all of today’s dietary mumbo jumbo. They are not getting any enjoyment out of their food.

The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.

I don’t eat between meals. I don’t snack. Well, I do eat those little fish crackers. They’re fattening, but irresistible. — Ed. note: Girl, I totally get you. Goldfish: the Achilles’ heel of eaters since the beginning of time.

On cooking-as-a-life-lesson:

You must have discipline to have fun.

You’ll never know everything about anything, especially something you love.

No one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.

Leave a Reply

