eggs perfect

Once upon a time, I had to turn to Google for instructions on boiling eggs. Perhaps… perhaps, it was even more than just once.

Maybe, this incompetence led me to purchasing the Egg Perfect Timer (see a similar one here). And only maybe, haunted by all that the timer represented, I shamefully shoved said item into the back of a kitchen drawer, to remain there, forgotten, until now.

This is all hypothetical, of course. As we all know, I’ve perfected my egg-boiling technique. I can produce an impeccably portable, edible egg nowadays. My method involves throwing the eggs in a pot of water, bringing the whole thing to a boil and then letting it rest fifteen minutes before draining and shocking in cold water. No gadgets necessary.

Funnily enough, however, I came across an Egg Perfect Timer in my kitchen the other day. Curious how it got there (…), but I won’t ask any questions. In any case, I decided to put the adorably egg-shaped, entirely plastic device to task.

Step 1: place eggs, timer, and water in pot. Step 2: boil and wait until the timer darkens, starting at the outer edges and moving inward, to the indicator of desired doneness. The only imaginable annoyance is that the timer can be hard to see clearly through boiling water. Life is hard.

As you can see, it works pretty darn well. My eggs were boiled exactly as the timer predicted: opaque with an ever-so-slightly milky center. I probably wouldn’t use it for hard-boiled eggs, as it actually required more monitoring than my previous process. For soft-boiled eggs, which necessitate more precise timing, though, I’d reach for it. Uh, you know, just maybe, if it happened to be nearby…

Leave a Reply

