baked banana oat protein bars

There is nothing I love more than a good energy bar. The chewiness, the slight sweetness, the nutritional facts, even the satisfaction of breaking open the wrapper… I thoroughly enjoy every aspect of consuming a bar. Sad as it is, I don’t think I could go a workday without succumbing to the allure of a Luna Protein, Pure Protein, or Clif’s Builder pick-me-up. My name is Julie, and I have a problem.

I’ve realized, however, that a major part of the attraction is the fact that these things are not just energy bars. They’re also akin to candy bars with tons of foreign ingredients in them. I decided to take control of my addiction and make these babies the natural, old-fashioned way — something I should’ve done a long time ago, as they’re a breeze to make and much better for your body! After spending a bit of time experimenting in the kitchen, I emerged with a totally healthy treat.

Baked banana oat protein bars

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 teaspoon, baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon, vanilla extract
  • 4 ounces, almond milk
  • 150 egg whites (from about 5 eggs)
  • 150 grams, rolled oats
  • 1-2 scoops, protein powder (I used Trader Joe’s Darwin’s Soy Protein Powder)
  • 1 teaspoon, salt
  • 1 teaspoon, baking powder
  • 75 grams, chocolate chips (optional… but I refuse to acknowledge that anyone would leave these babies out)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mash the bananas well in a medium-sized bowl. Add baking soda and incorporate into mash.
  3. Mix in vanilla extract, almond milk, and egg whites thoroughly.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the rolled oats, protein powder, salt, baking powder, and chocolate chips.
  5. Combine the wet and dry ingredients. Pour into baking pan (I used an 11×7 pan, which was a little too big; I’d use 8×8 next time).
  6. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden.
Leave a Reply

