Dutch apple pie with sour cream custard

Yesterday, I recounted my experiences with pastry, from harrowing to happy. At the end of it all, I found myself with a cute lil’ pie crust and nothing to fill it. Fortunately, I knew exactly where to turn: Hoosier Mama Pie Company. Now, I don’t live in Chicago and I’ve never been to the shop — but Tim of Lottie + Doof’s exquisite description of their Dutch apple pie with sour cream custard absolutely transported me.

This pie, this magical pie, is one of the best things I have ever eaten. Truth. … I think the easiest way of explaining this masterpiece is to say that it is as if a pie, a coffee cake, and a cheesecake had a baby. And really, what could be better? I knew, regardless of season, this was the first recipe I needed to try [from the cookbook]. It is as magnificent as I remember. It is also worth noting that in five years of blogging, and almost eight years of loving, I have never seen Bryan so excited by something I baked. He went crazy for this thing.

!!!

As it goes, however, the recipe sat patiently among my bookmarks for weeks until I felt ready. Baking a pie from scratch is no easy endeavor, and I wanted to mentally and physically prepare myself as much as possible. Well, this weekend, the time finally came.

As I’d expected, the pie-making process was both maddening and meditative. While preparing the crust was a test of stamina and attention to detail, making the filling was a lovely, leisurely experience. All told, the process took perhaps four hours of active work, start to finish, with a plenty of resting time in between.

Was it worth the blood, sweat, and tears?

More than anything, this apple pie, from crust to custard, proves to me that I can indeed cook. I’ve always been so dissuaded by kitchen disasters (see: pie crust post) that I often unduly sell myself short. This labor of love and lesson in technical skills would have it otherwise. I don’t mean to be dramatic or self-congratulatory, but damn… sometimes a girl just feels accomplished. My first pie, y’all!

More importantly, though, the thing is delicious. Judging by the exclamations of the dinner party guests, Tim is most certainly not alone in his love for this pie. The sour cream mixture cooked into a mellow, silky custard that complimented the sweetness of the apples and streusel nicely. If you ask me, it tasted like success.

Hoosier Mama’s Dutch apple pie with sour cream custard

Recipe at Lottie + Doof

Apples. I also used two apples for the pie — one Granny Smith and one Honeycrisp. I would’ve liked a more tart profile (more Granny Smith), though others may prefer slightly riper, sweeter apples.

Sweetener. I was glad I followed the recipe to a T during this first attempt. However, next time I bake this (and you can be sure there will be a “next time”), I’d cut down the amount of sweetener by half; e.g., half the granulated sugar in the filling, all the granulated sugar in the streusel. I might even make less of the streusel in order to really let that delicious fruity custard shine.

Serving. I recommend serving the pie cold since I find chilled cream irresistible. The pie also keeps very well in the refrigerator, in case you feel like saving a slice or two. Pie and tea for breakfast? Yes please.

One thought on “Dutch apple pie with sour cream custard

  1. Pingback: friendsgiving | yours julie

Leave a Reply

