happy MLK Jr. Day!

It can be difficult for me to write about activism because, despite my earnestness, I feel as though I know very little. I know that, as a minority living in the present-day, my experiences can be very different from those of my peers’. I also recognize that I could never comprehend the very real, life-threatening challenges faced by others outside of my circles. Similarly, I can read all the history books I want, but I’ll never truly feel the gravity of ages-old discrimination. I can look around the bus on my way to MUNI, imagine as hard as I possibly can, and still never know what it’s like to fight for the right to occupy my very seat. For this, and for so many other things I take for granted, I thank Martin Luther King, Jr., and, just as importantly, the countless brave men and women who were a part of the civil rights movement.

Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, “What are you doing for others?”

Leave a Reply

