Whole30 Wednesday: Days 4-10

From January 12th through February 11th, I’ll be participating in The Whole 30 Program.

Day 4: Wednesday, January 15

  • Breakfast: Hard-boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: Leftover pan-fried salmon. Sauteed kale. Fresh cucumber tomato salsa.
  • Dinner: Beef and tomato stew.
  • Snacks: Fruit samples.

Achievement unlocked: my first day without a real snack! (I’m going to ignore the fact that I had a few slices of apples and oranges at my favorite farmers’ market stall.)

I’ve been having long days, but am feeling fine thanks to serious prepping. I definitely don’t feel deprived.

Day 5: Thursday, January 16

  • Breakfast: Leftover pan-fried salmon. Fresh cucumber tomato salsa.
  • Lunch: Roast chicken, asparagus and cauliflower.
  • Dinner: Leftover beef and tomato stew. Spinach. Steamed broccoli. Sauteed brussels sprouts. Cucumbers.
  • Snacks: Sunflower seeds.

Achievement unlocked: I didn’t have any sugar, natural or not. I even accompanied my friend to get a gelato-stuffed nutella & cheesecake crepe (!!) and didn’t bat an eye. In my book, that’s a major accomplishment. I’ve just been telling myself that I don’t eat those things, rather than I can’t. The language of it has helped immensely.

I don’t really feel any differently. I walked quite a bit — to and from work — and felt low-energy. I also suspect that my conditioning from high intensity interval training is fading during this rest week. I’m pretty excited to start exercising again.

Day 6: Friday, January 17

  • Breakfast: Leftover beef and tomato stew.
  • Lunch: Roasted chicken, asparagus and cauliflower.
  • Dinner: Pan-fried chicken tenders. Stir-fried rainbow chard.
  • Snacks: none

Tonight was my first night without something going on in the evening — and thank goodness. I was markedly sleepy throughout the day. Everything made sense once I checked the Whole30 timeline, which labeled these days, “I just want a nap.” Word.

Day 7: Saturday, January 18

  • Breakfast: Kale and bell pepper stir fry.
  • Lunch: Hard-boiled egg. Canned salmon. Sunflower seeds.
  • “Interlude” (oops): Part of Jay’s Chipotle carnitas salad with salsa and guacamole.
  • Dinner: Lemongrass shrimp. Thai green curry with mushrooms and bell peppers. Braised red cabbage. Stir fried veggies. Apple pear.
  • Snacks: Apple. Orange. Blueberries. Pistachios.

Achievement unlocked: I ate out with my friends and didn’t break! Exhibit A: after physically laborious volunteering through Habitat for Humanity, Jay and I skipped the noncompliant (but generously provided) Panera Bread lunch. Instead, I whipped out the hard-boiled egg, sunflower seeds, canned salmon, and, yes, can opener I’d packed and was set. Exhibit B: I stopped by my friends’ picnic in Dolores Park. There was, as always, quite the spread: wine, juice, crackers, cheese, chips and, last but not least, oven-hot Delfina pizza. While I did snack, I stuck to fruit — which I consider a fair compromise, if not a victory.

Achievement 2 unlocked: I hosted a Whole30-compliant meal for my friends! Sadly, though, due to a time crunch (namely, our weekly Costco grocery run) and poor planning, I was not proud of the food I set on the table. It’s not that the food was bad. I like to use these occasions to make more involved, special dishes; this time, though, we put out simple “busy weeknight”-type plates. On the bright side, we made a good variety of compliant food.

Day 8: Sunday, January 19

  • Breakfast: Sweet potato hash. Sweet Italian chicken sausage.
  • Lunch: Balsamic chicken breast. Romaine lettuce salad with cherry tomatoes. Olive oil and balsamic vinegar vinaigrette.
  • Dinner: Grilled salmon, mushrooms, asparagus, zucchini, and pineapples. Guacamole. Romaine lettuce salad with cherry tomatoes.
  • Snacks: Cherry pie Larabar. Coconut water. Pistachios. Kale chips.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Bum Bum.” Hour-long hike with steep elevation climb.

I’ve been way more disorganized than usual (even forgetting a doctor’s appointment the prior day). I thought I had time to work out, make breakfast, and cook and pack lunch before my friends picked me up for our afternoon hike. They ended up waiting half an hour for me to finish up. I wonder if my uncharacteristic spaciness is due to my diet..?

Despite my tardiness, the afternoon was lovely. During our picnic, I was so satisfied with my food that I was hardly tempted by the snacks present. I was so dehydrated afterward, though, that I indulged in an “emergency” Larabar. It was intensely sweet, and I’m not sure I’ll be tempted to have another any time soon.

Last but not least, achievement unlocked: I made dinner with friends! I ate everything with gusto, thanks to the simple magic of the grill. As gracious as my friends were in accommodating my Whole30, however, I still felt totally obnoxious with all my suggestions and inquiries (e.g., “can we cook only using olive oil?”). I hate to impose on others, especially when it comes to shared experiences like meals.

Day 9: Monday, January 20

  • Breakfast: Sweet potato hash. Sweet Italian chicken sausage. Sunny-side up egg.
  • Lunch: Lemongrass shrimp leftovers. Power greens salad mix.
  • Dinner: Kahlua pulled pork. Mashed cauliflower. Braised red cabbage. Power greens salad mix.
  • Snacks: Cinnamon coconut water.
  • Exercise: One hill sprint. Brazil Butt Lift “Cardio Axe” and “Tummy Tuck.”

Hooray for holidays! I woke up and was over the moon to be able to make a leisurely breakfast for Jay, who was working from home. I’m getting truly excited over cooking nowadays.

Not much else to report — my energy level was fair (though I did feel faint towards the end of the day) and my mood good. I’m also pleasantly sore from starting a new workout regimen, Brazil Butt Lift (part of the same family as Insanity, but much less intense and way more entertaining). I worked out pretty moderately today with a few sprints and a cardio workout. It feels good to be active again, even if I’m doing a very easy program, but I’m not enjoying feeling flabby.

Day 10: Tuesday, January 21

  • Breakfast: Half an avocado. Hard-boiled egg. Smoked salmon.
  • Lunch: Crockpot Vietnamese chicken. Power greens salad mix. Cucumber.
  • Dinner: Kahlua pork. Mashed cauliflower. Braised red cabbage.
  • Snacks: Coconut water. Tandoori roast chicken.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Bum Bum.”

Back to the grind, my friends. Still no real changes other than a low energy level during my workout (which was also very late at night, thanks to a full day of work and evening class). I found that my appetite has decreased considerably, but I’m making an effort to eat enough.

According to the Whole30 timeline, the worst of the program should be this day and the following one. We’ll see about that, but for now, I’m pretty content. My sugar and carb cravings are definitely under control, although I’ll “indulge” every now and then with fruit or coconut water. I’m hanging in there and hoping to see some results soon.

Leave a Reply

