Whole30 Wednesday: Days 18-24

From January 12th through February 11th, I’ll be participating in The Whole 30 Program.

Day 18: Wednesday, January 29

  • Breakfast: Egg and sausage.
  • Lunch: Ropa vieja. Cabbage slaw.
  • Dinner: Orange chicken. Cauliflower fried rice. Stir-fried vegetables. A slice of apple pear.
  • Snacks: Farmers’ market fruit samples.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Sculpt.”

I had an excess amount of fruit today. By now, “excess” means having the equivalent of an apple and a quarter cup of orange juice (cooked into my dinner). Still, it’s more sugar than I’ve been taking in these past few weeks.

I’m not sure if it’s related, but I also woke up in the middle of the night with an irresistible urge to itch. It could be a new hand salve I’ve been using — or potentially the effects of too much sugar. Hmm.

Day 19: Thursday, January 30

  • Breakfast: Egg. Kale stir-fried kale.
  • Lunch: Leftover orange chicken and cauliflower fried rice.
  • Dinner: Miki’s salad and assorted sashimi.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Cardio Axe” and “High & Tight.”

Oh boy – I couldn’t wait to devour my leftovers from yesterday. As silly as it may sound, I worry that the sugar in the orange sauce could be triggering my cravings again. It was too addictively good.

I also went out to eat tonight at my favorite ramen joint in SF. It was only a little painful watching everyone slurp up their bowls of deliciously rich tonkatsu broth. All the same, I was super grateful that my server made sure my sashimi combo was compliant (and that I’d brought coconut aminos to the restaurant — a first).

My energy levels have been very decent otherwise. There are rare occasions during which I feel faint during exercise, though this could also be due to the fact that I work out first thing in the morning (usually on an empty tank).

Day 20: Friday, January 31

  • Breakfast: Mixed greens and sweet potato frittata.
  • Lunch: Ropa vieja. Cabbage slaw.
  • Dinner: Cha Cha Cha’s seared ahi tuna with veggies and ceviche.
  • Snacks: Two egg whites.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Sculpt.”

I’ve been eating bites of food throughout the day instead of square meals, and I want to get back on track. Square meals make me feel much better.

I also went out to one of my most frequented tapas bars, Cha Cha Cha, for dinner with friends. Normally this becomes an orgy of small plates, but my server kindly and nonjudgmentally helped me customize an order to fit my diet. Yay!

Day 21: Saturday, February 1

  • Breakfast: RoliRoti’s roasted pork knuckle. Fruit samples from the farmers’ market.
  • Lunch: Grilled bell peppers.
  • Dinner: Front Porch’s grilled shrimp and veggies.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Cardio Axe” and “Bum Bum.”

Whoa. I binged on fruit today. My cousin and I went to the Ferry Building Farmers market where I ate every fruit sample on offer (sometimes coming back for seconds, I’ll admit it). On the flip side, I didn’t cave into any of the bread or chocolate freebies.

Not sure if this is related to my sugar high, but I also became quite irritable later in the day. I haven’t been having any terrible mood swings during the Whole30 (though it is expected during the earlier parts of the program). This volatility was pretty unexpected. Something to pay attention to…

Achievement unlocked: I made a traditional dessert for a friend’s birthday and didn’t have a single taste of it! I have now used up all the pie dough and cane sugar I’d stashed away — a belated pantry cleaning of sorts.

I also went out for dinner the third night in a row. Anxiety was high at a Southern soul food restaurant, but the server and kitchen at The Front Porch were amazing. They noted each of my restrictions and made me a special request that was so fresh and delicious, I did not envy my friends’ family-style feast one bit — and trust me, the spread was looking divine, with fried chicken, shrimp and grits, mac and cheese, fried pickles…

Day 22: Sunday, February 2

  • Breakfast: skipped – I slept in.
  • Lunch: Chipotle’s carnitas salad.
  • Dinner: Poached chicken salad with bean sprouts, cilantro, jalapeno, and lime juice.
  • Snacks: Pecan pie LaraBar. Kombucha.
  • Exercise: rest day.

Jay and I ran around town doing errands before his work trip out of town. I’ll miss Jay for the two weeks he’s gone, but I’m also honestly relieved to start cooking for one. Not only will I get more batches out of my bulk meals, but I can stop stressing myself out over Jay’s Whole30-influenced experience.

I ate out for the fourth day in a row — and I hope the last for a while. I’m craving home cooking, and not just because it helps me feel more compliant with the program. I feel more connected to my body and meals when I get to choose exactly what goes into my food. My friends K & D generously made  homemade phở gà for Super Bowl Sunday, but I simply skipped the noodles and soup for a salad. I felt obnoxious, even though they were super gracious. Everyone has been so accommodating, but again — I can’t wait to stop being a sore thumb.

In football’s honor, I let myself “indulge” a bit with a LaraBar and kombucha. I felt a bit guilty after the former (needless non-nutrition) and little lightheaded after the latter (negligible alcoholic content)… but I need to get past that. It’s funny how this Whole30 has reframed my idea of “healthy.”

Day 23: Monday, February 3

  • Breakfast: Egg salad (two eggs) and half a sweet potato.
  • Lunch: Ginger and garlic chicken. Herb salad mix. Carrots and celery in Vietnamese-flavored chicken bone broth.
  • Dinner: Ropa vieja. Cabbage slaw.
  • Snack: Peruvian chicken.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Sculpt.”

I feel as though my body is recovering from all the restaurant food I’ve eaten over the weekend. While I stuck to compliant dishes while dining out, my portion sizes were out of whack. On the plus side, though, I’m much more in tune with my body now; I’m noticing day-to-day changes in my body, like this bloating.

Another goal I made this month was to institute “quiet hours” without technology between 10:30pm and 7:00 am. So far that’s been an abject failure. I’ve been spending each day meal-prepping until midnight, which entails lots of online recipe reading. While I love cooking and eating homemade food, I’m going to have to figure out ways to exit the kitchen and enter the bedroom sooner.

Day 24: Tuesday, February 4

  • Breakfast: Leftover rotisserie chicken.
  • Lunch: Peruvian chicken breast. Roasted cauliflower. Herb salad mix.
  • Dinner: Ropa vieja. Cabbage slaw.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Cardio Axe” and “Bum Bum.”

Yup, I’m definitely feeling puffy from all that food over the weekend. I’m also a bit sluggish and low-energy; my morning work-out definitely suffered. I should note that I’ve been exercising in a fasted state, against the official Whole30 meal planning suggestions (just my personal preference).

Please note, however, that I have only one week left in this program. Next recap you see from me, I’ll officially have achieved my goal!

Leave a Reply

