ropa vieja

Ropa vieja. The syllables just roll off the tongue… and now I’m trying so hard to connect this with a “meat hits your tongue” witticism here and failing. Failed humor aside, this Cuban version of pulled pork stew totally deserves some serious attention.

In my search for Whole30-friendly batch recipes, I stumbled upon a goldmine in No Paleo Piece of Cake.  This particular dish, with its big, bold profile, beckoned to me immediately. Ropa vieja, or “old clothes,” uses one of my favorite techniques (slow-cooking tough cuts of red meat) and yields enough to feed a family for days and days. This was one of the first Latin dishes I’ve ever tried making, and it most certainly won’t be the last!

Ropa vieja

Recipe at No Paleo Piece of Cake

I followed the recipe nearly exactly, though I think a tweak here or there won’t affect the crazy deliciousness of the end product.

Searing the meat in batches. Avoid overcrowding so that you can get proper browning on those steaks!

Jay had to sneak a piece of steak before it went back in the stew. I don’t blame him.

It’s nice that this dish can be a one-pot wonder.

Throwing in the rest of the ingredients.

After a few hours of braising!

Shredded and ready to eat.

One thought on “ropa vieja

  1. Pingback: greatest hits of 2014 | yours, julie

Leave a Reply

