Friday finds

Last weekend, my dear friends surprised me with a French-themed birthday party. My heart nearly failed me twice: first from the shock, and then from an overwhelming, nearly debilitating burst of love and joy. Filling C and B’s apartment were adorable decorations, red balloons, a photo booth, stripes and berets, pâté and pastries, and, of course, amazing homemade treats: onion tarts, mini quiches, charcuterie, cream puffs à la Julia Child, and even dreamy kouign amanns. I couldn’t have asked for a better way to ring in my quarter century.

This weekend, I’ll be hopping a plane to attend a wedding in Los Angeles… and, because enough is never enough, celebrating my birthday once again — this time in the company of my beloved extended family. May the cake never stop coming.

My inner 8-year-old is dying over this taste test of all the flavors of Cheez-Its. (Serious Eats)

Jennifer Lawrence’s best friend wrote an amazing post about going to the Oscars. (Myspace)

This American Life featured an amazing piece on a very special SF place. (NPR)

Must try all these Bay Area-based desserts. (Inside Scoop)

Bow down: dressing Bey and cooking with the ‘Yonce girls. (Jezebel/Life and Times)

Leave a Reply

