21-Day Sugar Detox Tuesday: Days 3-9

From April 6th through April 27th, I’ll be participating in The 21-Day Sugar Detox.

Day 3: Tuesday, April 8

  • BreakfastCoconut pancakes.
  • Lunch: Sauteed power greens with tomatoes. Two hard-boiled eggs. Normandy vegetables.
  • Dinner: Red Thai coconut curry with chicken. Shiritaki noodles.
  • Snacks: Shredded coconut flakes. Green beans.
  • Exercise: Chalean Extreme “Extreme Abs” and “Recharge.”

My sleep is getting so much deeper! I woke up feeling more refreshed and less foggy than the day before, but I’m still struggling to feel fully “alive.” Thankfully my mood is stabilizing more rapidly, although I still feel a bit grumpy here and there.

Day 4: Wednesday, April 9

  • BreakfastCoconut pancakes.
  • Lunch: Chia pudding (no fruit). Chicken.
  • Dinner, at Guddu de Karahi: Tandoori fish and prawn vindaloo.
  • Snacks: Sliced almonds.
  • Exercise: Chalean Extreme “Burn Circuit 2.” Turbofire “Stretch 10.”

I felt a bit weak around meal times today, which is strange. I’m eating a good amount, and feel as though my tank is always “full” — but my energy level just isn’t there sometimes.

Day 5: Thursday, April 10

  • Breakfast: Vietnamese egg salad.
  • Lunch: Chia pudding. Spring mix.
  • Dinner: Green beans. Roasted chicken. In-n-Out protein-style burger.
  • Snacks: Go Raw Flax Snax.
  • Exercise: Chalean Extreme “Burn Intervals” and “Ab Burner.”

Tonight my hunger hit a total wall. My sister essentially rushed me to the nearest In-n-Out when she picked me up from the airport and noticed how low-energy I was. I suspect I’m not eating enough given all the strength training I’ve been doing. At the same time, it’s strange accepting that I might need to be eating more, given that I’ve been decreasing food intake and increasing cardio for so long.

Day 6: Friday, April 11

  • Breakfast: Three egg and kimchi omelette. Steamed broccoli.
  • Lunch, at California Shabu Shabu: Salmon and choice beef plate with vegetables (no rice or noodles).
  • Dinner, at Kaori: Sashimi salad.
  • Snacks: Sprouts’ veggie chips. Alive & Radiant kale chips.
  • Exercise: Chalean Extreme “Burn Circuit 3.” Turbofire “Stretch 10.”

I ate quite a bit during the day, but somehow still felt incredibly tired by the late afternoon. Some veggie chips perked me up significantly, which makes sense given that the beets and sweet potatoes had a good amount of carbs and natural sugars in them. I wonder if this is a symptom of weaning my body off of sugar or simply not ingesting enough calories. Either way, I felt better after some snackies.

Day 7: Saturday, April 12

  • Breakfast: None.
  • Lunch, at Miyako: Sashimi salad.
  • Dinner, at Kappo Honda: Sashimi. Grilled skewers: chicken and shiitake mushroom, duck, beef and okra, scallops. Beef teriyaki with ponzu sauce. Tsukemono pickles.
  • Snacks: Almonds. Alive & Radiant kale chips.
  • Exercise: Brazil Butt Lift “Bum Bum.” Turbofire “Abs 10” and “Stretch 40.”

love Japanese food, and am on a total kick now that I’m back in southern California. I will come clean and admit that, because of this, I’ve been eating soy freely — verboten on this detox. I’m making the conscious decision, however, to adapt the diet to my emotional/physical needs. I’ll have some damn soy sauce if I wanna.

In other news… My friend D is in the middle of the Brazil Butt Lift, so I revisited Leandro’s world of tropical tushy-training with her. This workout was probably one of the most effective (and, therefore, one of my least favorite). I’m definitely going to be feeling some soreness later.

Day 8: Sunday, April 13

  • Breakfast: Alive & Radiant and Brad’s raw kale chips.
  • Lunch: Two hard-boiled eggs.
  • Dinner: Rotisserie chicken. Salad with cherry tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette. Guacamole.
  • Snacks: Whole Foods’ Go Take a Hike trail mix. Cocoa nibs. Pistachios. (See breakfast.)
  • Exercise: None, rest day.

I’ve been snacking like a fiend! Whenever I’m home, I spend major time rifling through my parents’ pantry in search of treats. Because I couldn’t have any sweets this time around, I blew a ton of money on a new savory snack. I recently discovered raw kale chips, which are dehydrated instead of roasted in oil, and they are out-of-this-world delicious. Unsurprisingly, they’re also ridiculously expensive at $5 per ~2.5 ounce bag (read: a fistful of chips). Confession: I spent roughly $30 on a supply that was devoured within 48 hours. I’m going to need to investigate ways to make this on my own…

Day 9: Monday, April 14

  • Breakfast: Coconut pancakes with cocoa nibs.
  • Lunch: Spring mix salad with oven-roasted turkey breast, clover sprouts, roma tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette.
  • Dinner: Pan-fried salmon with Normandy vegetables.
  • Snacks: Go Raw Flax Snax.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire 45” and “Stretch 10.”

My hybrid workout program has now moved into its high intensity interval training phase! I’m back in the cardio saddle. On one hand, it’s super exciting getting my heart rate up with all this dynamic movement — but, on the other, it’s pretty easy to get bored and start half-assing exercises. I suppose this is why it’s good to have variety. Also of note: skipping the weights has been mirrored by a smaller appetite. Hmm!

Leave a Reply

