21-Day Sugar Detox Tuesday: Days 10-16

From April 6th through April 27th, I’ll be participating in The 21-Day Sugar Detox.

Day 10: Tuesday, April 15

  • Breakfast: Two hard-boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: Spring mix salad with oven-roasted turkey breast, clover sprouts, roma tomatoes and balsamic vinaigrette.
  • Dinner: Pan-fried salmon with Normandy vegetables and roasted savoy cabbage.
  • Snacks: Go Raw Flax Snax. Alive and Radiant kale chips.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire 30” and “Abs 10.”

I’m definitely not feeling my best, though I suspect this may have more to do with current stress levels than nutrition. It’s been difficult to resist some form of emotional eating. Even if sweets are out of the question, I still find myself rummaging through the kitchen for something satisfying. To this end, I had quite a bit of “healthy” snacks (how I rue the day I crossed paths with raw kale chips!) as well as much too much savoy cabbage. Well, it could be worse…

Day 11: Wednesday, April 16

  • Breakfast: Two hard-boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: Spring mix salad with oven-roasted turkey breast and balsamic vinaigrette.
  • Dinner: Chipotle salad with carnitas, fajitas, salsa and guacamole.
  • Snacks: Alive and Radiant kale chips.
  • Exercise: None.

I was absolutely starving by dinner time due to deliberately light grazing throughout the day. I wanted to save stomach space for a nice supper, but this clearly backfired. I just got too hangry to wait for a seat at a restaurant, so we ended up getting Chipotle (not a bad alternative). I’ve got to figure out how to time meals (and nourish myself) properly. Despite the one mood swing, however, I’m definitely stabilizing emotion- and energy-wise. Thank goodness!

Day 12: Thursday, April 17

  • Breakfast: Two hard-boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: Chia pudding.
  • Dinner: Pan-fried salmon with Normandy vegetables and roasted savoy cabbage.
  • Snacks: Beef and vegetable curry.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “HIIT 15” and “Stretch 10.”

Have you heard of nutritional yeast? These amazing flakes have a pronounced “umami” flavor, comparable to cheddar, with more than a hint of salt, soy, and earthiness. I’ve been literally burying my food underneath a mountain of this mustard-yellow powder… so much that, by the end of the day, I’d grown sick of it. On the plus side, however, nutritional yeast is full of nutrients (including B vitamins), so I can rationalize my short-lived, but intense, love affair.

Day 13: Friday, April 18

  • Breakfast: Two hard-boiled eggs.
  • Lunch: Beef and vegetable curry.
  • Dinner: Vietnamese jellyfish, pork and shrimp salad.
  • Snacks: Roasted coconut chips.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire EZ 45” and “Stretch 10.”

I haven’t been getting the most out of my workouts because I’ve been exercising on second-level floors. You can’t really commit to a super dynamic, plyometric workout if you’re constantly worrying about stomping too hard and shaking the house, you know? For this reason, I’m missing my strength training and bodyweight exercises à la Brazil Butt Lift.

Day 14: Saturday, April 19

  • Breakfast: None.
  • Lunch: Leftover Vietnamese jellyfish, pork and shrimp salad.
  • Dinner at 707 Sutter: Korean pollack roe soup. Japchae.
  • Snacks: Trader Joe’s kale chips. Plantain chips. Roasted coconut chips.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire 45” and “Stretch 10.”

Confession: I’ve been less vigilant about this detox. During the Whole30, I was nearly militant about what exactly was in my food. This time around, though, I refuse to be the annoying person at the dinner table. I had a meal with my friends and ate whatever seemed likely compliant, including a dish that might’ve definitely broken the rules (Korean japchae, made with glass noodles and sugar-sweetened sauce). Even on my own time, I’ve snacked on starchy plantain chips and had some kombucha with added fruit juice. And you know what? The marginal amounts of sugar ingested are fine with me. I still feel I’m keeping with the spirit of the 21-Day Sugar Detox.

Day 15: Sunday, April 20

  • Breakfast: Plantain chips.
  • Lunch: Smoked trout over greens. A few sips of Jay’s shoyu ramen broth and soft-cooked egg.
  • Dinner: Roasted chicken with za’atar and almonds. Salad with tomatoes, onions, and lemon-tahini dressing.
  • Snacks: Plantain chips. Roasted coconut chips. Gingerberry kombucha.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Core 20” and “Stretch 40.”

Jay and I were in the grocery store when, from afar, I spotted a display of Brad’s raw kale chips. I instinctively squealed, “Look, honey!* Kale chips!” Jay immediately recoiled, exclaiming, “Damn! I was hoping you wouldn’t see that.” It seem as though my sweet tooth has been replaced with a major snack obsession… and there’s no end in sight.

* As much as I resisted, I’ve fallen irreversibly into the habit of using PDA-y terms of affection. So be it!

Day 16: Monday, April 21

  • Breakfast: Coconut pancakes with cacao nibs. Roasted coconut chips.
  • Lunch: Roasted chicken with za’atar and almonds. Salad with tomatoes.
  • Dinner at Daigo: Sashimi. Seafood salad.
  • Snacks: Trader Joe’s kale chips.
  • Exercise: Chalean Extreme “Push Circuit 1.” Turbofire “Stretch 10.”

I’ve been STRESSED, all-caps necessary. I’m facing some major potential upheaval (though much-needed and all positive!) and it’s been taking its toll. Jay and I had purchased groceries for the week with the intention of eating in every day, but tonight I just needed an escape. Dining out helped, but afterward I still had some buzzy brain-space that needed to be filled with — you guessed it — snacks. Universe, grant me the strength to get through these next few months!

Leave a Reply

