savory coconut chips

SNACKS! I had an itch that needed to be scratched. Due to my self-imposed detox, however, most treats were off-limits. What could I eat that did not:

  • contain a mind-boggling dose of sugar, wheat, and/or other questionable ingredients,
  • cost me a miniature fortune in the alternative aisle of the grocery store;
  • require spendy equipment, like a dehydrator; or
  • involve kale, which I’d had a dozen ways over by now?

My thoughts turned to coconut. A few weeks ago, I’d impulsively bought a pack of coconut chips, thinking it’d make a good treat, but the raw flakes were entirely too dry, chewy, and strangely, faintly sweet. I abandoned them until recently, when I spotted some inspired (and expensive) treats at my local health foods store. After routine Googling, I retreated to the kitchen with a bag of lifeless coconut and emerged with a tray of addictive lil’ nuggets.

I dug through my spice drawer and hit the coconut chips with savory, Middle Eastern-inspired flavors. A quick toast fired up the natural oils in the coconut, sealing in the seasoning, crisping up the flakes, and drawing out rich and nutty undertones. I’ll definitely be making these again, especially after the look on Jay’s face when he threw some back with his beer — they’re a perfect salty bar snack. “You should sell these,” he said earnestly. If I do, I wonder, might I charge as much as those healthy snack producers? A girl can dream…

Savory coconut chips

Recipe adapted from Our Paleo Life

Ingredients

  • 3 cups coconut chips (I used Sprouts’ brand)
  • Spice mix
    • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
    • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
    • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
    • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
    • Salt and pepper to taste (I would start with 1/4 teaspoon each)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Pour coconut chips into a bowl or Ziploc bag. Add spice mix and stir or shake; the spices won’t stick to the coconut chips, but we’ll incorporate this in just a second.
  3. Add coconut oil into mixture and stir or shake to combine thoroughly, ensuring that the seasoning coats the coconut chips. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.
  4. Pour the coconut chips onto a non-stick baking sheet. Place in the oven in the middle rack and bake for about 5 minutes. Keep a close watch to make sure they burn. Right when the coconut chips begin to turn golden brown, pull them from the oven — they crisp quickly and will continue to cook even after you remove them. Place on a cooling rack or remove from a metal baking sheet (if used) to prevent them from overcooking.
One thought on “savory coconut chips

  1. Pingback: greatest hits of 2014 | yours, julie

Leave a Reply

