Whole30 Wednesday: Days 0-3

During the month of June, I’ll be participating in the Whole30 program.

Day 0: Saturday, May 31

  • Breakfast: Nature Valley Oats ‘n Honey Bar with peanut butter and chocolate chips.
  • Lunch at Coqueta: Sangria. Charcuterie plate. Kale salad. Patatas bravas. Chicken croquetas. “Sunny side-up” eggs over potatoes. Wood-grilled squid. Duck and pork albondigas.  Iberico pork shoulder. Churros with chocolate sauce.
  • Snack: samples of fruit and candy galore at Ferry Building farmers market. Arizmendi mint chocolate cookie with Eezy Breezy frozen custard.
  • Dinner at Izakaya Sozai: Salmon sashimi. Spicy tuna on crispy rice. Pork cheek and scallop skewers. Grilled salmon onigiri. Ramen. Tempura-fried bananas with ice cream.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire 45 EZ” and “Abs 10”

Balls. to. the. wall. My friends and I marked our last day of dietary freedom by going HAM at some amazing restaurants. Our savory Spanish brunch at Coqueta turned out to be one of my very favorites, which is saying a lot, considering it lacked a certain sweet staple. Seriously though, it was fucking amazing — as was dinner at our incredible neighborhood izakaya. My last bite of the night: deep-fried and drizzled in chocolate sauce. Bye, sugar.

Day 1: Sunday, June 1

  • Breakfast: Two hard-boiled egg whites. Larabar.
  • Lunch: Mixed greens with two hard-boiled eggs and mini tomatoes.
  • Snack: Trader Joe’s kale chips.
  • Dinner: Salad with cabbage slaw, taco-spiced ground turkey, chicken verde, guacamole, and pico de gallo.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “HIIT 25” and “Sculpt 30”

Of course I’d have a birthday party to attend on the very first day of my cleanse. I white-knuckled my water bottle as my friends dug into a glorious-looking chocolate mousse bombe cake and It’s-It ice cream sandwiches around me. … I kid, it wasn’t that bad. The worst part is never abstaining, but the act of declining itself. My friends couldn’t stop apologizing/pitying me, as much as I tried to downplay my restrictions. I was reminded of how intensely eating is tied to socializing. It’s a double-edged sword.

Day 2: Monday, June 2

  • Breakfast: Kit’s cashew bar. Macadamia nuts.
  • Lunch: Vegetable soup. Salad.
  • Dinner: Chicken verde. Almonds.
  • Snack: Peach. Fruit bowl. Coconut butter. Alive & Radiant Veggie Krunch. Just Tomatoes.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “Fire 30” and “Abs 10”

I am clearly having some mad sugar cravings… and I’m okay with that. I don’t mind that Jay is enabling me by surprising me with some dehydrated goodies (which are technically compliant, even if they aren’t in the spirit of the program). I’m taking it easy and letting myself have as much fruit as is reasonable, trusting that my snacky tendencies will drop off in a few days.

Day 3: Tuesday, June 3

  • Breakfast: Alive & Radiant Veggie Krunch. Just Tomatoes. Hard-boiled egg.
  • Lunch: Chicken verde. Sautéed chard.
  • Dinner: Alive & Radiant Kale Krunch. Lydia’s Organic Kale Krunchies. Tricolor salad.
  • Snacks: Macadamia nuts. Dried mangoes.
  • Exercise: Turbofire “HIIT 25” and “Tone 30”

To the untrained eye, my diet diary might not look too bad — but rest assured, my eating habits have been outta control. I’ve been subsisting nearly exclusively off of snacks, polishing off multiple bags of kale chips within a period of 24 hours. Oops.

I also had my first dining out experience. It was… not great. My plate is pictured above; one of my friends’ is below. The real kicker was that I paid $9 for that miserable scattering of greens, while my friends got their fill of gorgeous pies for less than $5 more. Well, I did bring this upon myself.

 

Leave a Reply

