Friday finds

Hooray for weekends with no Big Plans! The only thing I’ve got to do is go to the movies. We’re catching a screening of Heaven Adores You, a documentary on one of our most beloved musicians. In fact, nearly ten years ago, a teenaged Jay and I bonded over our love of Elliott Smith (and teenaged Julie heaved many an angsty sigh over her unrequited love sorrythatsgrossIknow). Hope your weekends are just as sweet and sentimental.

Get that beach body.

NYC vs SF, illustrated.

Career advice I wish I had at 25.

The art of being apart.

Smoke and mirrors?

10 tricks to appearing smart in meetings.

The story of a movie star, a refugee community, and beauty.

Have you heard of the 5 love languages? It’s one of my favorite psych concepts. Everyone communicates their love in different ways; for example, I am big on quality time, words of affirmation, and physical touch. As an Asian American, however, I find this translation hilariously on the money.

Such beautiful, survivor-designed empathy cards.

There can be no room in this movement for misogyny.

Deep thought for the weekend: how can I sing/look/dance like FKA twigs.

Leave a Reply

